Confessions of a Doomer

by Mickey Foley

…But I’m not ashamed to be a “Doomer” (one who believes society will be forced to radically re-simplify through a painful process of collapse). When I first learned about Peak Oil 5 years ago, it was very difficult being a Doomer. I was petrified by the potential for social breakdown and extremely reluctant to share my concerns with people outside my circle of friends. Of course, at that point I was convinced we were headed for a Mad Max-style future, and my discussion was framed in terms of absolute certainty, the sign of an insecure cultist. Now I talk about it in terms of probability, allowing for the possibility of a safe future, even though my worries remain. That’s a result of my emotional stabilization and has nothing to do with the feasibility of the Peak Oil theory. If anything, my belief in the theory has been strengthened by the events of the last 5 years.

I’ll concede that my personal struggles predisposed me to Doomerism. If I were a rich, happily-married screenwriter living in a mansion in the Hollywood Hills, I probably wouldn’t care a tinker’s cuss for Peak Oil. But I’m a 32-year-old temp living with my parents, so I’m far more receptive to apocalyptic theories. At the same time, I don’t think my beliefs are any less valid than those of my successful, parallel-universe doppelganger. Just because I’m more likely to look on the dark side doesn’t mean I’m more likely to be wrong. It just depends what era you’re living in. Here in the U.S. of A. we’ve had Happy Days for almost 65 years in a row. Sure, there have been some bumps in the road, but overall our material comforts have been good and getting better (nearly) all the time. Therefore, people who look on the bright side have generally been right for the last 65 years. Now I think we’ve entered an epoch when the Doomers will be right most of the time….

I’m right there with you on this one, Mickey.

Full article here

This entry was posted in society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

