Magical thinking by Christine Patton

Peak Shrink has an interesting post on The Tyranny of Positive Thinking, a review of Barbara Ehrenreich’s book Bright-sided: How the Relentless Promotion of Positive Thinking Has Undermined America. In it, she expresses the same frustration I’ve felt when dealing with our cult of positivity.

I believe that I can improve situations by the way that I think about them and how I interpret them. I believe that, by envisioning a positive future that INCLUDES the harsh facts about peak oil and climate change, I can work toward that future by coming to terms with the massive changes that will be occurring and taking steps to prepare for it. A positive vision helps keep me motivated.

...I have one friend, for instance, who hates it when I talk about problems like oil depletion. “Enough of that doom and gloom!” she cries. “Let’s talk about solutions!” Well, excuse me, but until you understand the depth, breadth and scope of the issue, you can’t even begin to imagine the magnitude of the changes that are going to have to occur – and which we are going to have to work towards.

http://www.energybulletin.net/node/51870

This entry was posted in society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

